Blogger Recognition Award (who, me?!)

So. Shameeka Alexis has nominated lil’ ol’ me for this mouthful of an award. And I’m touched.
It’s intended to encourage bloggers, a little ‘Hey! I like you, and you’re doing good.’ It was started by this blog. And like all good things in life, this one has rules too.
Blogger Recognition Award

  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to. Do some digging if you must! Find those blogs. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you.
  • Write a post to show off your award! Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog. List who you’ve nominated in the post.
    Make sure to also attach the award itself! (You can do this by right-clicking, saving, and uploading the image on the right).
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you’ve nominated them. Provide a link to the award post you created.
  • Provide a link to the original post on Edge of Night. That way, anyone can find the original guidelines and post if needed, and we can keep it from mutating and becoming confusing.

So this is my ‘show-off’ post, and below is this blog’s life story.

I was inspired by Shameeka’s book review site. (Clichéd, probably, but true.) I found her blog one day, and after a month or so (yes, I’m slow like that) I thought, “Hey, why don’t I do that?”

It was my fate to listen to Vance Joy’s song Riptide. And then, of course, I had to dig to find out what the lyrics meant. Then I thought, ‘Why not write on that?” It made me think of writing just on songs. Popular songs. And not exactly reviews, more like my takes on these songs.)

After getting an inspiration, I waited. And waited, and waited. After a few months, when the dreaded final exams were over and I was free from all obligations, I hunted up WordPress and here I am.
This blog is barely two months old (oh, you little baby!!), but I’m having fun on it. And cocking an eye at my followers, I like to think others too find this entertaining. I’ve found others whose writing I like, and I’m feeling the joy that comes from writing. (Yes, it really exists.)

(takes a deep breath from all the overt sentimentalism)


Next. Advice to bloggers?! I’m a fledgling myself; how dare I presume…

I’m not really qualified to give advice per se, because I started this with the intent of writing for myself primarily. Of course, I want to be famous (don’t we all!) and I love it if I’m able to make somebody laugh, think, or go “Oh my gosh, I totally agree!” (Or even “Oh my gosh, you’re completely wrong.” Either way is fine, I just need a reaction.)

But my main purpose is to document my musicky feelings, and perhaps have this serve as a launchpad when I start composing and/or recording. And that’s the best ‘advice’ I can think of: do whatever you’re doing the best way you can, but be clear why you’re doing it. Keep writing, because content is the one thing that brings people back. And, of course, have fun.

(I said I didn’t have advice, but… human nature. Excuse me.)


Finally. My nominees:

I really hope the figure 15 is a guideline and not a rule.

Cheers!

any thoughts?